Why We Want To Ditch Our Desks

Why We Want To Ditch Our Desks

Why should classrooms be redesigned? Desks are clunky, the rooms are small, the walls are bare, and the class discussion is minimal. 

In Innovations, we need class collaboration on a daily basis to brainstorm and continue to push our creativity to new lengths. Hunching over vast desk space to speak in a loud classroom with 16 other people is not easy, nor is it “user friendly” for the students. I am all about social media, so communication and collaboration with others is very important to me. This necessity is hindered due to the lack of close proximity, face-to-face conversation with my peers. 

This is why I propose a change. Not only for Innovations, but for classrooms around the country. I understand some classes need desks strategically placed in rows with students in alphabetical order (such as math and science); however, the other subjects are not providing students with ample discussion with each other. In AP U.S. History and AP Language and Composition last year, we held countless Socratic seminars and class discussions over our readings, and my back was turned to over half of the class due to the set up of the desks in the classroom.

Consequently, I believe classrooms should be given bean bag chairs and furniture that can be set up into a circle for discussion and collaboration on a daily basis. I would love Innovations to be the prototype of this proposal, though we do not have the resources for this at the moment. If any school has already tried this technique, please contact me at the email address below. Also, if anyone is willing to give us a discount on furniture, please email me at paige.a.woodard@gmail.com so we can foster more creativity and success in our classroom!

2 thoughts on “Why We Want To Ditch Our Desks

  1. I like your proposal, but don’t think that math and science classrooms don’t have collaboration or discussion. When I taught chemistry (8 years), we had lots of discussion, and were moving the desks around in different configurations all the time. :-)

    • Caryn,

      What I meant by that statement is I understand that those classes need more structure and do not require as much class collaboration as others, unless of course, on student is asking another how to work an equation/problem. I hadn’t thought of Chemistry when generalizing my statesman and I do apologize for the miscommunication. I simply meant that I understand some classes require more structure and less student input than others (particularly mathematics and science classes, such as biology or anatomy, which I only group together from personal experience in these classes). :)

Leave a Reply

