A Month of Progress

A month ago, I began my journey in the student-run, project-based class Innovations. Since embarking on this incredibly fulfilling and educational journey, I have encountered unbelievable opportunities. Although I have been lax on consistently posting about my progress, I feel this is a month of success and should be celebrated. Here is why:

First of all, I have branched out in so many more ways than I ever thought I would as a mere high school senior. I have the personality of a wallflower, but behind my computer screen, I am a social butterfly promoting social media education with a passion. Since the creation of my “professional” Twitter handle, @paige_woodard, on August 7th, I have gained 123 followers and collaborated with some pretty influential people–Howard Rheingold and, currently, Eric Sheninger and Adam Bellow to name only a couple. 

Secondly, I have been honored with meeting influential people. In fact, I was recently interviewed by Howard Rheingold, whose TED talk can be viewed here: http://www.ted.com/talks/howard_rheingold_on_collaboration.html for DMLcentral.net on my social media education mission. My interview will be available for viewing soon, at which time I will post on my blog here with more information. 

Thirdly, I have learned a great deal more about social media and incorporating it into education. The most important thing I have learned: It’s not easy. Many administrations are afraid of change, of evolving, of innovation (including my own school corporation). Despite the pressure I have to create a DVD on “educating the educators” about bringing social media in the classroom, I am not afraid of my challenge. I look forth with great excitement and anticipation for the future of my project. Social media and networking in general is becoming essential for success in today’s society and it is necessary for school corporations to band together to provide this opportunity for their students. 

In the months to come, I plan to film my DVD on why social media is essential in the classroom and how it can be incorporated into the curriculum and begin advertising it to school corporations. I also have a ten-week series on what not to do on Twitter on my Youtube channel, the first of which can be found here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-yeBPpmLwuI. I am also working on a new blog post for early next week that will thoroughly explain my mission and why it is important to me to incorporate social media in education. 

Until that blog post is up and running, follow me on Twitter at @paige_woodard for updates on my project and who I am in contact with. 

Leave a Reply

