Teachers Teaching Teachers: Tough Questions, Staunch Answers

Teachers Teaching Teachers: Tough Questions, Staunch Answers

If you were unable to catch my live interview on Teachers Teaching Teachers tonight, never fear! You may still view it on EdTechTalk by following the above link! If for some reason you cannot find the video on that link, you can view it directly on Youtube here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LBaXswLQN6I#t=462

Though Paul posed some tough questions, I do believe I did social media advocates justice with my defense for social media in the classrooms! As I have admitted countless times, I am learning right alongside the educators I am trying to teach. I am not the all-knowing social media guru. I am a teenager making mistakes and learning from them while pursuing a passion. 

Through my experience on social media sites, I recognize the dangers and roadblocks many students ignore…and usually run into head-on. Without acknowledgement of their responsibility on social media sites, adolescents and young adults especially misrepresent their character and face consequences for their rash actions. College admissions and future employers are not the only ones to monitor your social media profiles, though they do make decisions for your future. In addition to them, your friends and family judge you based on how you represent yourself on your profiles. Posting things such as “I have no friends,” “I hate my family,” or even using explicits to describe the people in your life can affect your future relations with those individuals. 

All I am asking from students is to think before you act. Though I am sometimes very lax on it, I try to follow the mantras “Think before you speak” and “If you can’t say anything nice at all, don’t put it on Facebook.” Though the latter is a little ad libbed, it still rings true. One of the greatest caveats I was told when beginning this project is that what you put on the Internet is like a zombie; it never dies, it never goes away. Students need to realize whatever they post on the Internet has a permanent identity and will be found. 

So, if you don’t want future employers finding pictures of you at a Halloween party in 2010 dressed as a racy nurse, don’t post the pictures on social media networking sites. Please. 

Leave a Reply

